Installed Renewable Energy Capacity
Key Players
  • Department of Energy(Ministry of Climate Change and Natural Hazards, MCCNH)
  • Ministry of Infrastructure and Public Utilities (MIPU)
  • Ministries of Education and Health
  • Ministry of Finance and Economic Management (MFEM)
  • National Advisory Board
  • Project Management Unit (PMU) under MCCNH
  • Utilities Regulation Authority (URA)
  • Electricity Supply Act
  • Utilities Regulatory Authority Act
  • The Environment Management and Conservation Act
  • National Energy Road Map (NERM)
  • National Energy Policy Framework
  • Vanuatu-Solar Irradiation and PV Power Potential Maps
  • IRENA RE Resource
  • Department of Energy Database
  • IRENA – Vanuatu
  • Global Green Growth Institute (GGGI)
  • Solar powered IoT milling partenrships
  • Rural Electrification in Vanuatu
Graphs have been developed using HIGHCHARTS software under the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 License
Key Economic Indicators
  • GDP (current)
    USD 0.86 Billion
    in 2017
  • GDP growth rate (current)
    in 2017
  • WB Ease of doing business rank
    in 2018
  • Foreign direct investment
    USD 24.7 Million
    in 2017
  • Lending interest rate to private sector
    in 2017
  • Domestic Credit to Private Sector
    in 2017
Key Energy Indicators
  • Electric power consumption per capita
    in 2014
  • Share of electricity from RE in grid
    in 2015
Sovereign Credit Rating
  • Standard & Poor's
  • Moody's
  • Fitch
Comoros is an archipelago located in the Indian Ocean, north of the Mozambique Channel, on the east coast of the African continent and west of the northern tip of Madagascar. Comprising four main islands, Comoros has an area of about 1,862 km2 and is densely populated with a population of 813,000. One of the four islands, Mayotte, is an overseas department of France. The capital is located in Moroni, also the largest city on the main island of Grande Comore. 75% of the population lives in rural areas in the two larger islands of Grande Comore and Anjouan. Languages spoken are Comorian Swahili, French and Arabic.